RSS Feed

Is Chomsky hopelessly naive, willfully ignorant, just plain fucking stupid, or dangerously disingenuous?

Posted on

I’ve always wondered if Noam Chomsky is a Woody Allen character, maybe even played by Allen himself. I’m sure I would not be the first to ask if the two have ever been seen together,

woody chomsky

and if it was, was it at a Raelain orgy,

raelian orgy

and if sit was, were they tagging Allen’s stepdaughter, Soon Yi,

soon yi

or was Woody keeping her all to himself?

allen and soon yi

Woody Chomsky. Not quite as catchy as Adolf Stalin, Marilyn Manson or Brangelina but not bad.

But I digress. Already. Let’s get back on track, shall we?

No, wait.I need to explain something. I am not, in any way, attempting to put it into anyone’s mind that Chomsky has been accused of molesting his stepdaughter. Nor has he married another stepdaughter. Allen has been accused of molesting one of this stepdaughters and he did marry another stepdaughter.

Just because they look alike, it does not mean that Chomsky is as … adventurous (is that the right word? well, it will do for now) as Allen, even if they were both cloned from the same Raelian breed stock.

clone

Years from now, readers may seem to recall something about Chomsky molesting one stepdaughter and marrying another. It ain’t so, yo.

So, why have I bothered with this whole aside? Because I’m a fucking ASSHOLE,. And because if you only ever write about Woody Allen once in your life you really should mention the fact that he married his stepdaughter.

See? I told you I'm an asshole ;)

Okay, now let’s get back on track.

Like Allen, Chomsky has, I imagine, done some commendable work. I can’t say for sure because I’ve never paid much attention to either because Allen’s wit is predictable and Chomsky is a man who has a fuckin’ eh! remarkable grasp of the obvious. He is, all the same, to be commended for his tireless work to prove the obvious.  So, I was somewhat surprised when I found myself really tempted to check a FB post that had a pic of Chomsky on it. But I resisted the temptation.

See? I told you I'm an asshole ;)

See? I told you I’m an asshole 😉

After moving on to search for videos of animals doing adorable things, I was drawn back to the post with Chomsky’s woody mug on it. Why? I haven’t cared what Chomsky has to say since I was a teenager.

And then I understood.

My old friends, The Evil Clown Gods Who Rule the Universe (ECGs)

shooty

were screaming at me – “Watch it!. You’ll love it! It’s so fucking stupid it will make you insane!.”

So I watched it

And, sure enough, the great man spews some of the most ignorant shit I’ve ever heard.

The vid is from an event at the University of Florida. An audience member asks Chomsky about building 7 of the World Trade Center, which went down on 9/11. Specifically, the hair-farmer asks Chomsky to comment on the fact that an organisation called Architects and Engineers for 9/11 Truth  is challenging the official version of how  WTC  7 was laid to waste, and calling for an independent investigation into the matter.

7

There are a number of things about Chomsky’s response that I wonder about, and I will check into those matters, but before I get to that, here’s what I’m pissed about.

At about 3:23 of the vid, after dismissing the efforts of the org to validate its calls, for further investigation, Chomsky says:

“Now when this is brought up, there’s a standard reaction: scientists and engineers and professional societies, physicists are so intimidated by the government that they’re afraid to take, they don’t have the courage to take this position. Anyone who has any part, any record of part, any familiarity with political activism, knows tat this is one of the safest things you can do.It’s almost riskless. People take risks far beyond this constantly, including scientists and engineers. I can have run through and can run through many examples. I mean there’s a kind of a,, maybe people laugh at you, but that’s about it.”

Occupy Pepper Spray

“It’s an almost riskless position. So that can’t be the reason that nobody’s convinced.”

What a fucking crock of shit.

crock

People are not afraid of their governments?

People are afraid of wearing clothes that may make them the subject of mockery from people they don’t know

Chomsky may be a great linguist but he doesn’t seem to know jack shit about simple social psychology. People are fucking cowards when it comes to challenging authority.

power

I’ve had hundreds of people refuse to sign the nomination papers that are needed to run in elections because they didn’t want to get on some kind of government shit list. I  can back up my assertion with many more stories from personal experience – and will do so, if someone seriously wants to challenge me, – but for the moment I will refrain from belabouring a point that is obvious.

What’s remarkable is that Chomsky, a man who goes to great lengths to prove thing s that are self-evident, is completely oblivious to the fact that people have it beaten into them, from an early age, to OBEY, and that these people are scared to fucking death of dissenting.

“Anyone who has any part, any record of part, any familiarity with political activism, knows tat this is one of the safest things you can do.It’s almost riskless.”

More nonsense. I’ve been a fuck-shit-upper  for three decades. And I’ve paid the price for my decisions to dissent. Here’s one quick example:

Six years ago, I answered an ad from someone looking for a journalist/editor to come to the Balkans and help launch the first English language newspapers in the world’s newest country.  After months of wrangling,  during which I wrote about 40% – to 50% of the paper’s copy from Calgary, I was finally offered the job after the fresh-out-of-j-school, nubile 22 year old beach bunny was fired by the on-the-prowl publisher. It was a Friday night, and I went out to celebrate. When I woke up the next morning, the offer had been retracted.

fired

I skyped the publisher’s EA and asked WTF? The publisher had also decided to go out and celebrate. One does not launch the first English language newspaper in the world’s newest country without attracting a great deal of attention from the powers that be. One of the publisher’s powerful friends happened upon the party (coincidentally, no doubt) and quizzed the lusty Latino about the reason for his mirth.  A couple phone calls alter, I was out of the job.

The publisher did, eventually, hire me, but he shipped me off to Kosovo to fire up a second paper. He felt more comfortable about dropping me into a non-state that was ruled by the UN, which he had a great deal of disdain for.

screw the un

Again, I could give you many more examples, as could damn near anyone who has ever done a great deal of domestic subversion.

Chomsky is in an enviable position when it comes to political activism. First of all, he is far more financially secure than most fuck-shit-uppers, who scrounge whatever paying work they can get while fomenting revolution. Compared ot the rest of the rabble, Chomsky is a fuckin’ eh 1%er.

I’m going to give Chomsky the benefit of the doubt, at least to a degree, by assuming that he runs in circles that shield him from reality, as most activist 1%ers do.

When I first started getting paid to do work for Greenpeace, back in the mid-late 80s, it was for going door-to-door selling memberships.

awake

I’d already been a full time activist  for five years by then, by my student loans had run out and I needed to pay the bills somehow. When I would get back to the office

kingdom hll

and talk to the org’s professional campaigners about the kind of feedback I was getting from the unwashed masses, they almost always displayed an incredible sense of surprise and dismay. They just had no idea what the fuck “ordinary people” were, because they surrounded themselves with philosophical and political allies and/or intellectual peers who could agree to disagree. I assume Chomsky does the same. How else could he be so ignorant of the fact that ordinary people fear their governments?

“People take risks far beyond this constantly, including scientists and engineers.”

The fuck they do. Insinuating that the Mairkan government may have been responsible for 9/11 is the most dangerous thing any activist can do. If it is ever proven that Dubya et al. brought down the Twin Towers (and WTC 7) it will be forever remembered as the most heinous act ever committed .  Nay-sayinmg the official story of 9/11 is BY FAR the riskiest campaign any truth seeker can undertake in Mairka.

Almost as sickening as Chomsky’s idiotic statement was the audience’s reaction. The ignoids lapped up the great man’s smackdown of 9/11 truthers and brayed like a pack of drunken wrestling fans watching the good guy brain the bad guy with a folding chair.

chair

But that kind of thing is to be expected of witless idolators, so I should, I suppose, give them a pass.

However, Chomsky likely has some admirers who are not mindless morons. Many of them  are, no doubt, serious activists. Those people really should demand better of the man who, ironically (or perhaps not) is manufacturing consent.

Unless, that is, the Raelains fucked up and sent Woody Allen to Florida and dispatched Chomsky to hunt for a new stepdaughter.

About zilla

i was born with skates on. i have three thumbs. i often wish i was a penguin. but i don't like fish, so maybe not.

Comments are closed.

