RSS Feed

Mandela no hero

Posted on

mandela

I haven’t had any heroes since I was a child, but Mandela was close.

I do believe, however, that had he been president of South Africa for more than five years (94 – 99) he would be less revered today, for he was not infallible and politics is a viscous game that everyone loses in the end.

That said, he may not have lived as long as he did had he continued to govern.

He may have already answered this question at some point, but I wonder if, in the end, he found his five years as president more trying than his 27 years in jail. Which did he want to escape more?

No, Nelson Mandela was not a hero to me, because i do not believe in heroes, but he was an example to be followed, and were I still tippling I’d raise a glass to the man tonight.

About zilla

i was born with skates on. i have three thumbs. i often wish i was a penguin. but i don't like fish, so maybe not.

Comments are closed.

